Effective January 1, 2016, the minimum wage in Nebraska is $9.00 per hour. This is higher than the amount set by the federal government under the Fair Labor Standard Act (FLSA). States are entitled to set a higher minimum wage, but are prohibited from setting a lower minimum wage than the federal standard. For information on Nebraska minimum wage, please visit the Nebraska Department of Labor´s website. The FLSA can be accessed at the United States Department of Labor's website, which is http://www.dol.gov/whd/flsa/index.htm.
If you are under the age of 20 your employer can pay you 75% of the current minimum wage for the first 90 consecutive days of your employment, and in some special cases, this "training wage" may be extended for an additional 90 days for on–the–job training. If you reach the age of 20 before 90 days have passed, your wage must be raised to the current minimum wage. However, if in hiring you the employer displaces other workers, then you must get the current minimum wage.
For more information on the minimum wage, check out the Wage and Hour Division of the U. S. Department of Labor´s website at http://www.wagehour.dol.gov or call the toll-free number at 1-866-4USWAGE.